Please take a moment to thank Rep. Jared Huffman, D-Calif., for taking part in the historical formation of the a Congressional Freethought Caucus that will focus on promoting secular values and will give a voice to freethinking voters.

The new caucus was fittingly announced by Rep. Huffman, the only openly nontheistic member of Congress, while accepting the Secular Coalition of America’s Visibility Award last Wednesday. Other members of the Congressional Freethought Caucus include Rep. Dan Kildee, D-Mich., Rep. Jerry McNerney, D-Calif., Rep. Mark Pocan, D-Wis., Rep. Jamie Raskin, D-Md and Rep. Pramila Jaypal, D-Wash.

The mission statement of the Congressional Freethought Caucus is “to promote public policy formed on the basis of reason, science, and moral values; to protect the secular character of our government by adhering to the strict Constitutional principle of the separation of church and state; to oppose discrimination against atheists, agnostics, humanists, seekers, religious and nonreligious persons, and to champion the value of freedom of thought and conscience worldwide; and to provide a forum for members of Congress to discuss their moral frameworks, ethical values, and personal religious journeys.”

Enter your information to take action now!


Please encourage others to act by sharing on social media.