Tell Congress It's Time for E-Fairness

On April 27 the U.S. House and Senate reintroduced bipartisan bills that would allow states to collect taxes from residents on goods purchased online regardless of where the seller of the goods is based.

S.976, The Marketplace Fairness Act (MFA), has a small-seller exemption for annual sales of less than one million. H.R. 2193, The Remote Transactions Parity Act (RTPA), also has a small seller exemption, but sets the threshold at $10 million per year.

The RTPA bill was reintroduced in the House by Representatives Kristi Noem (R-SD-AL), Steve Womack (R-AR-3), Jason Chaffetz (R-UT-3), Steve Stivers (R-OH-15), Lou Barletta (R-PA-11), John Conyers (D-MI-13), Jackie Speier (D-CA-14), Peter Welch (D-VT-AL), Suzan DelBene (D-WA-1), and David Cicilline (D-RI-1). The MFA bill was reintroduced by Senators Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Dick Durbin (D-IL), and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND).


Enter your information to take action now!


Thank you for taking action on this important issue. A sale is a sale no matter where it takes place.